Teratology Society Awards

F. Clarke Fraser New Investigator Award

Description:This award honors F. Clarke Fraser, one of the founding members of the Teratology Society, for his many contributions to the field of developmental toxicology. The award is presented during the annual meeting of the Teratology Society. The awardee will give a presentation related to his/her research. It is intended that the presentation will serve as a demonstration to pre- and postdoctoral students of the development of an independent career in birth defects research.

Eligibility requirements:Criteria for the award include being active in the Teratology Society and evidence of a successful independent research career, as demonstrated, for example, by high quality publications in peer-reviewed journals, obtaining funding for research endeavors, an established teaching program, an active graduate student program, or being generally recognized as an expert in the field. Individuals working in academia, government, and industry will be equally eligible to compete for this award. Candidates must be within ten years of the date their last formal training in a field directly related to the disciplines of Birth Defects, Developmental Biology, Epidemiology or Teratology (e.g., degree conferral, postdoctoral fellowship, residency program, etc.) and must be nominated by a member of the Teratology Society. Letters of nomination should be sent to the chair of the Awards Committee.  

Teratology Society headquarters will provide the Awards Committee with a list of members who meet the eligibility requirements for the award as they relate to membership status and service to the society. Chairs of committees on which eligible candidates have served will be contacted to facilitate nomination of eligible candidates, and for suggestions for individuals to provide supporting letters of nomination (i.e., a second letter of reference). The Awards Committee will then further evaluate the eligible candidates for their publications, funding success, and other evidence of an independent scientific career.

The Awards Committee will request supporting documentation from each nominated candidate, to include past accomplishments of the candidate (i.e., curriculum vitae), current research interests and projects, and a statement on how candidate believes his/her career will advance discovery in birth defects research.

The candidate’s information package should consist of the following items:

  1. A letter of nomination from a member of the Teratology Society.
  2. A second letter of reference must be provided from another individual who is familiar with the candidate's research career.
  3. A copy of the candidate's curriculum vitae in PDF format.
  4. Three representative publications of the candidate as PDF documents. The candidate need not be the first author on all publications, but it should be clear that the candidate has played a major role in the design and implementation of a research idea that has led or is likely to lead to an advance in birth defects research.
  5. The candidate may supply a summary of his/her research career with a description of future research directions (optional).

Judging process:The award winner, if any, will be chosen by the Awards Committee, using the criteria listed above under "Eligibility."

Nominations are due December 31, 2016. Nominations should be sent to the Chair of the Awards Committee, Janee Gelineau-van Waes .

2016 Recipient
Nicole Churchill Kleinstreuer, PhD

Past recipients

Sarah G. Obican, MD

Julia M. Gohlke, PhD

Peixin Yang, PhD

Robert G. Ellis-Hutchings, PhD

Ludmila Bakhireva, MD, PhD, MPH

Marcia L. Feldkamp, PhD, MSPH, University of Utah



Award recipient archive


Share this page.